top of page
  • recollection

In Conversation With Patinda

I spoke with Patinda, a sixteen year old indie artist from Bangkok, who has just released her incredible new song 'Sara'.


Read the full interview below:


Q. Hi Patinda!! First off, could you tell me a bit about yourself for those who don’t know you?


'Hi! My name is Patinda. I’m 16. I am an indie artist based in Bangkok. I’m currently a sophomore in high school. My music journey has begun since I was around 11 years old when I first took drum lessons, but not until I was around 14-15 years old when I started to make my own music.'


Q. What inspired you to start making music?


'I started to DJ when I was around 14. I was so obsessed with EDM music, especially dubstep. I was a pretty big fan of Skrillex, and that was the first reason I started to make EDM music. Luckily, I realized that EDM isn’t really my style and I felt like I didn’t express myself as much when it comes to producing. Later, I discovered Girl In Red and many other indie artists. So again, I taught myself how to produce and write bedroom pop music. This makes me know that this is what I truly like. This is me.'


Q. Are there any artists that you look up to?


'Yes. I have so many artists that I look up to and one of them is Phum Viphurit. His voice: soothing. His music: flawless. In fact, he’s from the same city as me and his music has grown internationally which I think is very powerful.'


Q. I love your new song Sara, could you tell us a little bit about it?


'Thank you! Sara is the character I created for the song to tell the story of my own. it’s about me when I experienced one of the most memorable moments of my life and not wanting to move on from it, wanting to live in that moment forever. It’s kind of feeling like you “stuck in the past”. You’re so happy yet sad at the same time. (and to be specific, that “memorable moment” was in 2019 when I went to one of my favourite artists’ live show.)'


Q. Is there a story behind the song? Is the ‘character’ of Sara based on someone from your own life or is she made up?


'Several people have asked me the same question, which is...Why Sara? Or...Who is Sara? Sara is 100% fictional. She’s not based on someone or tied to a specific person. I chose this name because it was the first name that popped up in my head. And in my opinion, the name fits really well in the song/lyrics.'


Q. Are there any plans to create a music video for ‘Sara’, or is one already in the making?


'The music video is now out on my youtube channel! (i am patinda). I have to thank my friend for helping me make the music video.'


Q. I saw that you also have your own zine! How does your expression through music and your creativity through the zine work together?


'My zine (called Sunnies Magazine) encourages people across the world and cultures to speak up their thoughts and discuss certain themes such as music. I think it is very cool and interesting to know what other people think about on the same topic.'


Q. If there is one, what message do you aim to convey through your music?


'I want them to feel like they are part of the song. I hope that when people listen to my songs they can interpret the meaning and somehow connect it to them/their life.'


Q. If you could open on tour for any artist, who would it be?


I love this question! If I could open on tour for any artist(s), definitely gotta be Clairo. I just love every single thing about her. And also Dayglow. I’ve been a fan of him since 2019 when Fuzzybrain first came out. He seems to be such a cool dude!


Q. What would be your dream music festival to headline?


'Lollapalooza and Laneway'


Q. Where do you hope to see yourself in ten years?


'In ten years, I will still be surrounded by music and will continue making music. That remains unchanged. I would picture myself as a successful musician and investor. And living my best life!'


Q. Finally, our issue titled ‘lovestruck’ is about to be released. Could you tell me about what love means to you?


'For me, love is a very strong positive force, and it’s unnecessary to have to be a feeling towards your significant other only. It is way beyond that. Love is a power of connection. It builds trust. Love is a mixture of a feeling of being grateful for things surrounding you. Something that makes you happy: your family, your cats, your friends, your plants, your favourite artists.'



Big thanks to Patinda for taking part in this interview

Questions and Article by @poppygibbss


Check out Patinda's zine: www.sunniesmag.com

Check out the 'Sara' music video: https://youtu.be/muYulciH-mI

bottom of page