top of page
  • recollection

ROAM- A POEM BY ANANNYA UBEROI

Updated: Jul 6, 2020

I want to watch a snowflake fall on my keyboard as I type

and sit there patiently waiting to be observed and loved and cared for as it melts

I want to swim naked with jellyfish their colours glowing fresh upon my burnt skin

and plunge into wakeless repose in the quiescence of the sea

I want to stand in the middle of nowhere and watch unknown birds flocking to far off lands

and to know their uncharted histories as they fly by

I want to live with congregations of wolves

and howl their howls into the whisked moon

But here I sit quietly writing shut between safe concrete walls and skies cluttered with

towering infinities.


~ Anannya Uberoi


About the writer:

Anannya Uberoi (she/her) is a full-time software engineer and part-time tea connoisseur based in Madrid. Her poems and short stories have appeared in Jaggery, LandLocked, Deep Wild Journal, Tipton Poetry Journal, Lapis Lazuli, and Marías at Sampaguitas. Her writing has also featured on The Delhi Walla and The Dewdrop, among other literary blogs.


tThis poem and more will be featured in issue one of Tea and Cake Zine, titled 'Wanderlust'. Submissions will close June 14th.


bottom of page